By Whose Authority?

Conference held Tuesday 16th - Friday 19th July 2002 at High Leigh Conference Centre.
Chair: Rt Revd David Conner
Secretary: Revd Canon Richard Truss
Chaplain: Revd Ruth Tuschling

The conference explored the concept of authority in Church and society at the beginning of a new century.

Traditional areas of biblical authority were examined together with more recent issues such as gender  and the relationship between the secular world and the Church.

This is an age of intense focus on presentation and obsessed with communication. It is also a time when we may realistically expect an imminent change of leaders within the churches as well as in  the political world.

This conference was for anyone concerned with the future direction of the Church and its relationship with society.


  • Revd Professor Paul Badham
    tudied theology at the Universities of Oxford,  Cambridge and Birmingham. For five years he was a Curate in Birmingham before moving to University of Wales Lampeter in 1973. He is currently Director of the Alister Hardy Religious Experience Research Centre and a Vice President of the Modern Churchpeople's Union. He authored the centenary volume The Contemporary Challenge of Modernist Theology (1998).

  •  Revd Hugh Dawes
    Vicar of St Faith's North Dulwich,  member of the Committee of the Centre for Progressive Christianity, former director  of the Forum Christian Institute, Cambridge and author of Freeing the Faith.

  • Very Revd Dr David Edwards
    Former Dean of Norwich and Provost of Southwark.

  •  Very Revd Vivienne Faull,
    Dean of Leicester Cathedral.

  • Revd Canon Anthony Harvey
    Former lecturer in Theology  at the University of Oxford and laterly Canon and Sub-Dean of Westminster.  He is a Fellow of the George Bell Institute and author of many books.

  • Simon Hughes
    MP for Southwark & Bermondsey,  was unable to attend the 2002 conference. His place was taken by Lord Richard Newby.

  • Genista McIntosh
    Former Executive Director  of the Royal National Theatre & Principal-designate of Guildhall School of Music & Drama. She is a member of the House of Lords.

  • Jane Shaw
    Revd Dr Jane Shaw, Dean of Divinity, Chaplain and Fellow of New College, Oxford.

  • Revd Dr Kenneth Wilson
    Senior Research Fellow and former Director  at Queen's Foundation for Ecumenical Theological Education and a Methodist Minister.